The 2023 CFDA Awards: The Winners were Catherine Holstein, Willy Chavarria, and More

On November 6, the CFDA Awards, hosted by Amazon Fashion was held at the American Museum of Natural History in New York.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) is an American fashion industry organization founded by Eleanor Lambert in 1962. Today, the CFDA has 458 members, including leading designers of womenswear, menswear, jewelry, eyewear, and accessories operating in the United States.

The CFDA Awards, held annually at this time of year, honors the top creative talent in American fashion today. This is a grand event celebrating the fashion world along with the Met Gala, this year Anne Hathaway served as the evening’s host and was sponsored for the second year in a row by Amazon Fashion.

Anne Hathaway, host of the CFDA Awards © BFA 2023

The “American Womenswear Designer of the Year” award went to designer Catherine Holstein of KHAITE and The “American Menswear Designer of the Year” was awarded to designer Willy Chavarria.

Catherine Holstein © BFA 2023
Willy Chavarria © BFA 2023

Ayo Edebiri and Prabal Gurung announced Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row as winners of the American Accessories Designer of the Year award, and Charles Melton and Zac Posen presented Rachel Scott of Diotima as the Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year award.

Rachel Scott © BFA 2023

Other awards presented and recipients are as follows.

Fashion Icon:
Serena Williams

Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion:
Goop, Gwyneth Paltrow

Board of Director’s Tribute:
Vera Wang

Founder’s Award:
Domenico De Sole, in honor of Eleanor Lambert

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Maria Cornejo

Media Award:
Alina Cho, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Environmental Sustainability Award:
Mara Hoffman

International Designer of the Year:
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and LOEWE

The awards ceremony also featured a red carpet of fashion celebrities and industry professionals including Kim Kardashian, Naomi Watts, Vanessa Hudgens, Demi Moore, Mary J Blige, and Martha Stewart.

Mary J. Blige © BFA 2023
Vanessa Hudgens © BFA 2023
Alina Cho, Naomi Watts © BFA 2023
Mark Guiducci © BFA 2023
Thom Browne © BFA 2023